Welcome to the websites to further explore the accomplishments of the program.

Chinese Portal

 

Taiwan Digitalarchives

 

This website collects the results from participating institutions in the "Taiwan e-Learning and Digital Archives Program". The "Special Collections" section introduces the diverse content of Taiwan's archives by theme, while the "Catalogues" features millions of collections gathered from archiving institutions nationwide. The "Technology Experience" showcases all kinds of technical application, and sections such as "Education and Learning", "Academic Research" and "Value-Added Application" integrate the resources from the websites of related projects.

 

Academia Sinica Digital Resources

 

The website integrates the results of digital projects from various institutes at Academia Sinica, which includes articles, digital resources, creative gallery, exhibitions, technical services, and authorization information. Through this channel, the digital resources of Academia Sinica can be introduced to the academic world and the general public as a whole, which is expected to raise the public's knowledge and application of the digital archives.

English Portal

 

Digital Taiwan - Culture & Nature

 

The multilingual portal of the "Taiwan e-Learning and Digital Archives Program" is aimed to present the rich content of Taiwan's digital archives in multiple languages. Through this website, the users can know more about the important collections in Taiwan, read introductions to the selected collections, or view individual collection images or audio-visual materials. The website also provides educational resources, interactive thematic exhibitions, and so on. Part of the content is available in Japanese and Spanish.

Database and Exhibition Sites

 

ASCDC E-cards

 

This platform offers a selection of beautiful images from Cyber Island. You are free to send them via email, LINE or Facebook -- send your thoughts and seasonal greetings and cross the distance in a click.

 

Oryza Sativa: Academia Sinica Center for Digital Cultures, 2013-2015

 

Digital archiving operates as a diligent miner, extracting under-covered yet precious fractures of moments from deep layers of time to arrive at the quintessence of all things. This project, Oryza Sativa*, faithfully records the fruitful outcomes of this Center's digital reconstruction of the past, within the first three years since its establishment. Recorded here are mainly the Center's works with Academia Sinica's digital projects, as well as the Sustainable Management Project of Digital Archives of Taiwan supported by the Ministry of Science and Technology.
*In the context of Chinese literature, the image of Oryza Sativa implies the maturing of one's labours, prepared for harvest.

 

Academia Sinica: A History

 

Academia Sinica was established by the Nationalist Government in 1928 as the premier research institution of the nation. Having persevered through the difficult founding years, its institutes were further forced to continually relocate in the turmoil of the Sino-Japanese War. Shortly after the victory, the institutes were still in gradual recovery when again moved to Taiwan. In 1954, Academia Sinica found its permanent home in Nangang. Striving in the face of adversity, it continued to grow and prosper ever since. This website was created in 2014 to mark the sixtieth anniversary of its re-establishment in Nangang. Featuring sections of "Founding and Re-establishment," "In Nangang," "Presidents since Founding," "Convocation," "Historical Vignettes" and "Timeline," it presents the path of Academia Sinica from the early days of struggle to its persistent pursuit of excellence. (Launched October 2014)

 

Reading Digital Atlas

 

This website collects Ming-Qing Dynasty atlases from the Library of Congress catalog, with analyses provided by National Palace Museum researcher Lin Tian-Ren. In addition, each record is viewable in English, and has a linked entry in the Library of Congress database. This website can be viewed in tandem with the physical catalog, Reading Imperial Cartography – Ming-Qing Historical Maps in the Library of Congress, published by Academia Sinica in 2013. (Launched June 2014)

 

Starting out from 23.5°N: Chen Cheng-Po

 

This website is a look back on the marvelous life of Chen Cheng-Po, through ten chapters that visualize data gathered from his works, letters, photographs, newspaper clippings, and personal collections. Integrating relevant research findings with information technology, this website utilizes data from the "Chen Cheng-Po Paintings and Documents" digital collection, which was established as a collaboration between the Academia Sinica Institute of Taiwan History, the Chiayi City Cultural Affairs Bureau, and the Chen Cheng-Po Cultural Foundation. (Launched January 2014)

 

Encyclopedia of Life

 

In 2011, Academia Sinica and the Forestry Bureau cooperated to launch the Taiwan Encyclopedia of Life, promoting sustainability and education for biodiversity conservation. Gathering all pertinent information for each species on its own webpage, the Encyclopedia has now recorded data for over one third of known species in Taiwan. This site is a partner in the international Encyclopedia of Life project, showcasing the beauty of Taiwan's biodiversity. All information is available for use under a Creative Commons license. (Launched January 2012)

 

Cyber Island

 

"Cyber Island" was born in 2006 to record and preserve a variety of images, in hopes of presenting a more complete portrait of Taiwan, and to act as a window for the world to come into contact with Taiwanese images. Renowned photographers, cultural history studios, smaller private collections, and individuals interested in photography were gathered from all over, under a Creative Commons license, to jointly construct a jigsaw puzzle of Taiwanese images belonging to the whole population, presenting the diverse faces of Taiwan. (Launched March 2006)

 

The 2016 "Digital Collections and Digital Humanities" Research Project Results Conference

 

Through the use of digital technology collections, and by management and application of our nation's precious cultural assets, the Academia Sinica Center for Digital Cultures today holds over 5.6 million digitized documents and maintains over 200 websites and databases. It continues to expand digital content, develop relevant technologies, and broaden the scope of their application, in hopes of facilitating the "democratization" and "globalization" of digital culture. In order to inform everyone of the fruits of our research and to provide a space for dialogue exchange, we held the "Digital Collections and Digital Humanities" Research Project Results Conference, and launched this website to introduce its contents. (Launched October 2016)

 

Seminar on "Knowledge Organization and Cultural Heritage: Perspectives of Semantic Web"

 

In the 21st century Web 3.0 era, the question of how to promote, utilize, and preserve digital cultural assets, by means of semantically annotated knowledge organization systems combined with methodology and practice research, has in recent years become an important issue for research fields related to libraries, archives, and museums. This seminar introduces the newest research directions and developments from Taiwan and mainland China, promoting scholarly exchange. Real-life cases are used to investigate this issue’s many facets. (Launched May 2016)

 

The Images of Formosa: Campus Tour Exhibit of Digital Archived Photographs

 

This exhibition was co-organized by the team of Cyber Island and Aaeon Foundation. They worked in collaboration with Ren-Mei Elementary School in Taichung City to design courses by incorporating elements of the exhibition into interdisciplinary courses and to create well-established teaching materials and lesson plans. By doing so, they offered guidance to students to look at various aspects of Taiwan through different lenses so as to improve their self-learning skills. It was hoped that, through the touring exhibition, those lesson plans could be introduced to elementary schools in rural Chiayi to help teachers gradually advance their teaching skills and eventually enhance the quality of both teaching and learning. (Launched June 2015)

 

Between Warp and Woof – A Special Exhibit on Weaving the Life Stories of Aboriginals

 

This exhibit interweaves the life histories and the weaving culture of aboriginal women, following the threads of tradition and custom among the Pan-Atayal (Atayal, Taroko, Seediq), Paiwan, Kavalan, Pan-Siraya peoples. This exhibit utilizes virtual collections, digital technology, weaving artifacts, and physical costumes to allow audiences to step into the world of aboriginal weaving. (Launched September 2015)

 

In Retrospect: Post-War Student Activism in Taiwan

 

As part of the attempt to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the founding of Institute of Sociology at Academia Sinica, this exhibition narrates in a chronological order the participation of students in political changes and social issues so as to present the role of student activism and its influences in the post-WWII development of political democratization and social reform in Taiwan (Launched October 2015)

 

The King's Tour of Inspection – A Virtual Exhibit on Island King Boat Culture

 

This virtual exhibit centers on the "King Boat" welcoming and send-off ceremony in Wang Yeh folk religion. Four cameramen – Taiwanese folk religion and custom researcher Huang Wen-bo, veteran photojournalist Yang Jin-Huang, Yanxiang Culture and History Studio director Wang Su-Man, and Duofuxuan Culture and History Picture Studio owner Chen Ding-Lin – were invited to contribute to the photo collection of Cyber Island by providing pictures of the King Boat ceremony. (Launched August 2014)

 

The National Freeway • Leopard Cats • Turtle Shell-ters – A Conservation and Artwork Exhibit

 

In 2014, a group of creators and individuals concerned about leopard cat conservation launched the "Foothills Ecosystem Series: Special Exhibition on the Conservation and Artwork of Leopard Cat Forests." They hoped to promote public awareness and appreciation for leopard cat conservation by moving people's hearts with beautiful artwork. All images collected through the exhibit are on display on this website. At the beginning of 2015, the webpage also adopted the Chinese box turtle and the rehabilitation of the National Freeway foothills ecosystem as additional subjects. (Launched July 2014)

 

Red Lips and Black Teeth: A Special Exhibition on Betel Nut Culture

 

The custom of chewing betel nuts has lasted for thousands of years, encompassing the inhabitants of Taiwan and southern China. Betel nuts have been used, not only as food or as gifts at social occasions and weddings, but also as treatment for illness, as safeguard against disease, or even as religious offerings or as charms for practicing witchcraft. This exhibit illustrates the different faces of the "betel nut," giving all visitors a more comprehensive understanding of the betel-nut and its cultural implications. (Launched September 2014)

 

Think X Chongqing S. Rd.

 

Chongqing South Road in Taipei is Taiwan's political and economic lifeline as many governmental agencies are located here, but it was also once a hub of book trade and literary gatherings. The exhibit Think X Chongqing S. Rd. was held successively at Taipei International Book Exhibition, National Taiwan Library, National Taiwan University, and Songshan Cultural and Creative Park. By displaying images, artifacts, old books, etc., the exhibit evoked the charming time when bookstores prospered along Chongqing South Road. Available online are some of the precious historical photographs. (Launched February 2014)

 

Academia Sinica Collection Highlights

 

This website was created based on the contents of our book, Academia Sinica Digital Collection Highlights Catalog. Its objective is to utilize digital technology to lessen the urban-rural gap, and allow the public to draw on diverse popular science knowledge and academic research findings. We hope that through easier online browsing, people from all walks of society may now learn and become more familiar with the appearance and history of these cultural artifacts previously used for academic research. (Launched November 2014)

 

Digital Resources for Sinology Studies in Taiwan

 

This website provides references and links for researchers, research groups, and libraries in fields related to "Sinology Studies" and "Taiwan Studies," both domestic and international. The contents are curated from websites under the "Taiwan e-Learning and Digital Archives Program." Listings are sorted into 8 categories: Archives, Full-text Databases, Anthropology, Rare Books, Rubbings, Art & Sounds, Maps, and Others. Each listing includes the website name, web address, and descriptions in Chinese and English. (Launched July 2014)

中文成果入口網

典藏臺灣

網址:

完整收羅「數位典藏與數位學習國家型科技計畫」來自各參與單位之成果,「珍藏特展」單元以專題介紹臺灣典藏的多樣內容,「目錄導覽」收錄來自全國各地典藏機構的百萬藏品,「技術體驗」展示各類技術應用,「教育學習」、「學術研究」、「創意加值」等單元則彙整相關計畫之成果網站資源。

中央研究院數位典藏資源網

網址:

本站彙整中央研究院各所數位計畫成果,內容有專題文章、資源導覽、精選圖庫、特展訊息、技術服務、授權專區等。藉此管道將中研院的數位資源整體性地介紹給學術界與社會大眾,期望提升大眾對本院數位典藏成果的認識與應用。
英文成果入口網

Digital Taiwan - Culture & Nature

網址:

「數位典藏與數位學習國家型科技計畫」之多語化成果入口網,目的在多國語言整體呈現臺灣豐富的數位典藏成果。使用者可藉此瞭解典藏於臺灣的重要藏品,閱讀精選典藏的專題介紹,或欣賞個別的典藏圖片或影音。網站並提供教育資源、互動式專題展示等。部分內容有日文與西班牙文版本。
主題網站

邁向卓越 – 中央研究院院史網

網址:

1928年國民政府正式設立中央研究院,作為全國最高學術研究機構,歷經艱辛創立,又因戰亂之故,各所顛沛流離。勝利之後,陸續復員,喘息甫定,又遷臺灣。而後於1954年定居南港,在艱難中重新恢復、經營發展。2014年正值中研院定居南港一甲子,故製作本站,以創始與播遷、南港建院、歷任院長、院士會議、記憶故事、大事記主題,來呈現中研院艱辛草創到邁向卓越之點滴歲月。(2014年11月上線)

數位方輿

網址:

本網站收錄之資料乃是美國國會圖書館珍藏之明清輿圖,除由國立故宮博物院林天人研究員研析解圖外,每筆資料已與國會圖書館資料庫串聯,並備有英文版可供查詢閱覽。本站可與本中心2013年底出版之《皇輿搜覽-美國國會圖書館所藏明清輿圖》實體圖錄對照觀看。(2014年6月上線)

從北緯23.5°出發 陳澄波

網址:

運用中央研究院臺灣史研究所、嘉義市文化局、與財團法人陳澄波文化基金會合作建置的「陳澄波畫作與文書」數位典藏資料,結合相關研究成果及資訊技術,透過十個主題將陳澄波先生的作品、書信、照片、剪報、個人收藏等資料加以視覺化呈現,回顧他精采的一生。(2014年1月上線)

生命大百科

網址:

中研院與林務局2011年起為促進生物多樣性保育、教育及永續利用之目的合作建置臺灣生命大百科網站。將臺灣已知的生物以一物種一網頁的方式,整合該物種所有重要的資訊蒐集在網頁上,現已收錄臺灣超過三分之一的物種資訊,資料全採創用CC公眾授權條款開放使用,並與國際生命大百科計畫連結,展現臺灣生物多樣性之美。(2012年1月上線)

數位島嶼

網址:

在數位時代中,為記錄與保存各式影像,「數位島嶼」於2006年誕生,希望完整呈現臺灣映像,作為世界接觸臺灣影像的窗口。匯集各方攝影名家、文史工作室、小型典藏單位,以及對攝影有興趣的民眾等,使用創用CC授權條款,共同建置屬於全民的臺灣影像拼圖,呈現臺灣多樣的面貌。(2006年3月上線)

105年度「數位典藏與數位人文學」研究計畫成果發表會

網址:

中央研究院數位文化中心利用數位科技典藏、管理與運用國家珍貴文化資產,至今已超過560萬筆數位資料、維護200個以上網站和資料庫,並持續拓展數位內容,研發相關技術,擴大運用範圍,期能促成數位文化的「民主化」與「全球化」。為讓各界了解發展成果,提供交流及對話空間,舉行「數位典藏與數位人文學」研究計畫成果發表會,並製作本站介紹執行內容。(2016年10月上線)

「語意網視野下的知識組織與文化資產」研討會

網址:

在21世紀的網路3.0世代,如何以語意化的知識組織系統,結合方法論及實作研究,推廣、利用及保存數位文化資產,為近年圖書館、檔案館與博物館等等相關研究領域的重要課題。本研討會介紹臺灣及大陸兩地最新的研究方向及進展,藉由實作的案例探討其多元面貌,並促進學者間的交流。(2016年5月上線)

映像臺灣 – 數位典藏校園影像巡迴展

網址:

本展覽由數位島嶼團隊與研揚文教基金會合作推動,結合臺中市仁美國小共同策劃教學課程,將展覽主題內容融入跨領域課程實施,建構完整課程教材教案,讓學童透過不同面向認識臺灣的多元面貌,以提升孩子自主學習。期望透過本活動將教學教案推廣至嘉義偏鄉小學,協助偏鄉教師專業能力之累進,進而提升教學現場教與學的方式。(2015年6月上線)

經緯之間 – 編織原住民生命故事特展

網址:

本展覽以原住民女性的生命歷程為經,編織服飾文化為緯,交錯展示泛泰雅(泰雅、太魯閣、賽德克)、排灣、噶瑪蘭、泛西拉雅族群的編織傳統和生命禮俗。同時運用數位典藏資源、數位技術、織具文物與實體服裝,讓大家進一步走入原住民的編織世界。(2015年9月上線)

學動 • 運生:臺灣戰後學運回顧特展

網址:

本展覽是中研院社會所為配合廿周年所慶,所策畫的活動之一,內容以學生為敘事主體,關注政治變遷與社會議題,以時間為軸線,嘗試去呈現戰後60多年來「學生運動」在臺灣政治民主化與社會改革中的角色與影響。(2015年10月上線)

千歲巡狩 – 數位島嶼王船文化展

網址:

千歲巡狩-數位島嶼王船文化展以「王船信仰、迎送千歲」為主軸,邀請臺灣民間信仰與民俗研究專家黃文博、資深攝影記者楊錦煌、鹽鄉文史工作室總幹事王素滿、多福軒文史影像工作室主人陳丁林等四位攝影師加入數位島嶼行列,並提供王船祭儀影像展出。(2014年8月上線)

國道 • 石虎 • 平安龜 – 保育與創作展

網址:

一群關心石虎保育的民眾、單位與創作者於2014年共同發起「淺山生態系列石虎森林保育與創作特展」,希望藉由美麗動人的藝文創作,提昇大眾對石虎保育的注意與重視。所有展覽徵集得來的圖像,均於本網站同步進行展示。2015年起展覽復增加平安龜、國道淺山生態復育成果作為創作展示的主題。(2014年7月上線)

紅唇與黑齒:檳榔文化特展

網址:

人類嚼食檳榔的習俗已延續數千年之久,包括臺灣及中國南方的住民在內,檳榔除作為食物及社交、婚禮場合的禮物,也被用於治療疾病、防止瘟疫,甚至被用來當作宗教祭祀的祭品或是行使巫術時的法物。本展覽解說「檳榔」的不同面向,讓各界更全面的認識檳榔及其文化意涵。(2014年9月上線)

思想,重慶南路

網址:

臺北市的重慶南路是一條政經樞紐之路,也曾是匯集華文圖書出版最重要的一條街。「思想,重慶南路」陸續於臺北書展、臺灣圖書館、臺大、松山文創園區等各展區,展出相關影像、文物、舊籍等,重現重南書店街風華,並同步於線上展出珍貴史料照片。(2014年2月上線)

中央研究院典藏精品

網址:

為實踐利用數位科技縮短城鄉差距的理念,並讓社會大眾能藉由數位科技汲取多樣性科普知識與學術研究成果,以《中央研究院數位典藏精品圖錄》一書為基礎建置本主題網站,期待原作為學術研究而用的文化藏品的面目與身世,能經由網路線上瀏覽更易於為社會各界親近與認識。(2014年11月上線)

臺灣漢學數位典藏資源導覽

網址:

提供國內外「漢學研究」及「臺灣研究」相關領域研究者、研究單位、圖書館參考與連結,內容精選「數位典藏與學習國家型計畫」項下相關網站製成目錄,分成檔案、全文資料庫、人類學、善本古籍、拓片、藝術與影音、地圖及其他等8類,附上站名、網址及中英文簡介。(2014年7月上線)